In 2016, the following steps were taken to establish the Cyber-Physical Systems Society of Iran:

  1. A set of meetings held with interested people from the University of Tehran, Sharif University of Technology, the academy of sciences, the need for an association was discussed in detail. Other universities and research centers, namely, Amirkabir University, Iran University of Science and Industry, Khajeh-Nasir toosi University Technology, Institute for research in fundamental sciences, … joined to these sessions. In view of the increasing application of IoT and Cyber-Physical systems in industries like Car, Aerospace, Smart cities, …., they concluded that the establishment of this association in the country is absolutely necessary.
  2. After the meetings, a committee called the Temporary Follow-up Committee was selected by the attendees to follow-up and coordinate.

    Temporary Follow-up Committee members on 2016

    Name Affiliation
    Dr. Mehdi Kargahi University of Tehran
    Dr. Hamid Sarbazi-Azad Sharif University of Technology
    Prof. Ali Movaghar Sharif University of Technology
  3. The temporary committee was responsible to officially initiate the steps for establishing the society at the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology, interaction with related societies, and establishing a board of directors. Finally, the establishment of the society was accepted with the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology at 2018, April. To elect the committee, Iranian experts in Cyber-Physical systems were invited to the election meeting individually by letters or publically by an announcement on news letters. The election meeting held with sixty participants at the Electrical and Computer Engineering department, Faculty of Engineering, University of Tehran on 2018, October. The meeting decided on the objectives and the name of the association, the board of directors by written votes.
  4. The directory board decided on main activities, policies, responsibilities of the members, and ratified the Association after studying the ones of various associations with regard to the proposed statute of the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology in 2018, October.